Screen, Stage and World Cup Stars!

TV presenter Neil Oliver will join an illustrious line of big names from the world of entertainment and sports when he joins us a Chieftain for the historic 2014 Bridge of Allan Highland Games.

Over the past 30 years we’ve seen our share of politicians and business people. From the entertainment world we’ve been luck to welcome well known actors like Diana Rigg, laughs galore from Andy Cameron, Ben Gunn and Fred MacAulay and musicians like the legendary Jim MacLeod. TV and radio presenters who’ve taken the salute of the massed bands at the Games include Jimmy MacGregor, the Beechgrove Garden’s Bill Torrance, news reader and current Desert Island Discs presenter Kirsty Young and last year’s Chieftain, Real Radio’s Ewan Cameron.

The country’s top sportsmen have been represented too. They’ve ranged from international rugby star, Ally Hogg to Scotland football heroes like Derek Johnstone, Richard Gough and local boy Gary Caldwell. For one reason or another, Ally McCoist’s appearance seemed to please men and ladies alike and helped draw a bumper crowd (he was 20-odd years younger, mind). We’ve even had something of an ‘international’ flavour with England football captain and big Terry Butcher and even World Cup winner Berti Vogts, during his tenure as Scotland football coach (will we ever forget?).

Check out 30 years worth of Chieftains below. And why not get in touch if you have any favourites you’d like to see in our starring role in the years ahead!

Past Chieftains of Bridge of Allan Highland Games
1974 Mrs E. McLean Author
1975 Provost McAulay The last Provost of the Burgh of Bridge of Allan
1976 Mr James Anderson Convenor Central Regional Council
1977 Mr Joseph F. Walker OBE Past President of SAAA
1978 Mr J. L. Bell Past President of Clack. County Cricket Club
1979 Mr G. N. S. Neave Senior Governor of S.P.S.
1980 Mr H. L. Duncan Duncan Soft Drinks (Stirling)
1981 Mr Iain Mathieson Former Army Major 1st Bn Seaforth Highlanders
1982 Mr Alasdair MacCallum Former Managing Director of Devro Ltd.
1983 Mr George Todd Esq. Former Managing Director of Todd Donald &Ptns Ltd
1984 Mr W. N. MacDougall Former Managing Director of House of Travel Ltd
1985 Mr Peter Mallan Scottish Musician
1986 Mr H. F. R. MacLennan  Former Regional Director, Ballantine Whisky
1987 Mr Jim MacLeod M.B.E. Leader of Jim MacLeod Scottish Dance Band
1988 Mr Terry Butcher Former Captain of England and Rangers
1989 Mr Andy Cameron Scottish Comedian and Actor
1990 Mr John Cairney Classical Scottish Actor
1991 Mr Jimmie MacGregor Scottish Folk Singer
1992 Dame Diana Rigg Film & TV Actress
1993 Mr Ally McCoist International Football Player and TV Presenter
1994 Mr Bill Torrance Singer and Co-presenter of TV’s Beechgrove Garden
1995 Mr Ben Gunn Scottish Comedian
1996 Mr Richard Gough Former Captain of Scotland and Rangers
1997 Mr John Stahl Scottish Actor of stage, screen, TV and radio
1998 Ms Kirsty Young National TV news presenter
1999 Mr Bob Shields Chief Writer and Columnist, Daily Record
2000 Russell Hunter & Una McLean Scottish Actors of stage, screen, TV and radio
2001 Fred MacAulay Media Personality
2002 Cancelled due to weather
2003 Jonathan Watson Actor
2004 Bertie Vogts Manager, Scotland Football Team
2005 Sir William Wallace  Lars Cook – Historian
2006 Andy Gray  Actor, Stage, Screen and TV
2007 Rt. Hon. George Reid Former Presiding Officer Scottish Parliament
2008 Allister Hogg Edinburgh Rugby Club and Scottish Internationalist
2009 Gary Caldwell Celtic and Scottish International Footballer
2010 Sean Batty STV Weather Forecaster
2011 Derek Johnstone International Footballer & Sports Broadcaster
2012 Cancelled due to weather
2013 Ewen Cameron Media Personality & Breakfast Presenter for Real Radio